It’s Friday…

and that means it’s time for another post. I’m a little burned out right now, quite honestly, from all the work I’ve just taken on. Why do I not say no?

As for my writing… I haven’t been working on my novel much this past week, but I’m OK about that, mostly because I’ve been trying to write from a character’s POV that doesn’t sit quite right with me. I usually enjoy writing from the POV of someone I don’t like–I have fun finding out those things that I can admire. But I feel as though I’m rushing to get to know those things and that her voice may sound forced because of it. I’m not OK about that.

Instead, I’ve been working on a short story I began in response to a prompt from The Mom Egg (http://www.themomegg.com/themomegg/Submit.html). I’m not going to submit this one, because it’s too long already and I’m only about halfway through. The story’s really grabbed me, and I’m excited to sit down each night and write it.  For those of you not familiar with my writing, ALL of it is somehow involved with the same family of characters, so I think that any writing I do outside of my novel is going to help me understand the motivations of the people I’m writing about.

All in all, I’ll give myself a B for this week.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Sounds like an A to me!

    Reply

  2. Hmm…maybe you’re an easier grader than I am. In order to earn an A, I think I’d have to have a completed scene in hand that I was thrilled with, and to be well on my way in another scene. I can dream…

    Reply

Leave a comment