Grading Myself Friday

Oh, Friday!  I thought you’d never get here!  This week has seemed so long–like two weeks’ worth of stuff dropped into one.  So how did I do?

Mmm…not so well.  I mean, I completed two freelance projects and I’m halfway through a third one; I managed to take care of all of the kids’ needs this week, including the start of homework for both (I had NO idea how difficult that one would be); and I posted three times this week, as was my goal of last week.

But as for writing…blech.  I wrote maybe two pages’ worth of material that I can either keep or rework.  I’ve been thinking about my stories, and although that’s important, it doesn’t magically turn into actual words on the page.

So I’m going to start scheduling my writing time, as I schedule everything else in my life.  My goal for next week is to have finished two more scenes in the short story I’m working on.  It’s a reachable goal–I think I can, I think I can!

For this week, I give myself a C-.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jason on September 16, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    I give you an A- at the very least! You’ve got a full plate, lady! Still, I have to think that scheduling writing time is a great idea. I think I’m going to do the same. I might as well, I schedule everything else. Sometimes I even schedule time to make a schedule!

    Reply

    • Aww, thanks, Jason, and HA!–I love that you schedule time to make a schedule! While I know I have a full plate, I think I could do a better job of managing my time, and writing is the first thing that gets crossed off my to-do list whenever other life stuff comes up. So my new goal of the week is to figure out what I can get rid of in order to make more time for writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

