[Catchy Titles Are Hard Work]

OK–I’m back from vacation, and despite it being cut short due to Hurricane Irene (a/k/a The Storm that Wasn’t for NYC), I had some great time to think about my story.  This is typical of my beach vacations, especially when I’m out there swimming…I can get inside my characters’ heads when there’s nothing else to think about besides being clobbered by the next wave that comes along.

But what I ended up spending time thinking about was a prompt from a literary magazine…http://www.themomegg.com/themomegg/Submit.html.  The prompt–“the body”–got me thinking about my main character and all of the important people in her life.

If I post a little of what the prompt word got me to write about, will anyone else join in?

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lisa on August 28, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I would be. I’ve been actively writing in my journal lately (I almost wrote journaling, but then remembered made-up verbs are a big no-no on a writing blog!). I’ve been toying with the idea that maybe I’m not so meant for fiction writing, as for non-fiction/essay type of writing. It’s be interesting for me to approach a prompt from that angle because I never have before.

    Reply

    • YAY, Lisa! And that’s for both wanting to participate in the prompt AND for remembering about made-up words! Ha! I’m really excited to see what you do with the prompt, either from a fiction angle or from an essay angle. Awesome.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

